Major Disaster Declaration


On June 2, 2017, FEMA announced that a Major Disaster Declaration was made for the flooding that happened across the state between April 28th to May 11th.   The President’s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, and Texas counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated area can apply for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).  Disaster assistance applicants, who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.

Individuals who were impacted have 60 days from the date of the declaration to complete their registration for assistance with FEMA.  You will need the following information when you apply for FEMA assistance:

  • Social Security Number (one per household)
  • Address of damaged home
  • Description of the damage
  • Information about insurance coverage
  • Telephone number
  • Mailing address
  • Bank Account and Routing Numbers for direct deposit of funds

Make a gift to LFCS in support of our Disaster Response efforts.

The United Way 211 is the go-to source for 24/7 assistance with unmet flood recovery needs.  Call 2-1-1 for assistance or contact 211 online.

Download more details now.